Canada imposes additional sanctions against 13 Belarus officials

    François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of Foreign Affairs

    NP-UN National Affairs Desk.

    In coordination with the European Union, Canada on November 6 imposed further sanctions against an additional 13 Government officials of Belarus. Canada and the EU continue to share serious concerns about the ongoing situation in Belarus.

    Since the fraudulent presidential elections in August 2020, the Government of Belarus has conducted a systematic campaign of repression and state-sponsored violence against public protests and the activities of opposition groups. Canada remains deeply concerned by ongoing, well-documented reports of human rights violations, including against freedom of the press, freedom of expression and peaceful assembly.

    In a press release Global Affairs stated: “We will continue to work together to ensure our respective and collective responses to the situation in Belarus support the rights and legitimate democratic aspirations of the Belarusian people”.

    “Despite international calls for Aleksandr Lukashenko to end the violence in Belarus, his regime’s aggression continues. Those responsible for repressing the people of Belarus will face increasing pressure through targeted sanctions. Canada will continue to stand in steadfast support of the Belarusian people as they struggle for peace,” added François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of Foreign Affairs.